5 Shows I Gave Up

Some TV shows are engaging, others can be a chore. Slow pacing, dragged out storylines and bland characters can stop me from continuing with a series.


Within this post, I have compiled a list of TV shows axed from my watchlist. For the sake of saving all of us some time I have not mentioned shows where I have only seen the pilot, that’s a whole other post.

american-horror-story
© FX

1. American Horror Story – This was my first experience with a horror series which meant it took multiple tries to get through the first episode. The only seasons I really enjoyed were Murder House and Coven, I didn’t even attempt Asylum because it was way too scary. The great thing about an anthology series is you don’t have to watch every season so you can pick and choose.

the-originals
© The CW

2. The Originals – A spin-off from The Vampire Diaries, which follows the Mikaelsons, the original vampire family, in New Orleans. I only started this because the Mikaelson siblings were so great on The Vampire Diaries but could not get to grips with the spin-off. Klaus was the only interesting aspect of the show but even that was not enough to encourage me to finish the first season.

agents-of-shield
© ABC

3. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – After finally watching all of the Marvel films a few summers ago I decided to watch Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.. It started off alright by portraying other characters within the Marvel universe but I could not make it through the first season. The series wasn’t as engaging and the group dynamic of the characters fell flat compared to The Avengers or Guardians of the Galaxy. I shall stick to Netflix for television content surrounding Marvel comic book characters.

arrow
© The CW

4. Arrow – The synopsis for the series did intrigue me but the repetitive nature of almost every episode made it feel like I was reliving the same hour over and over again. As I have previously mentioned, characters play a huge role in whether or not I enjoy a series and none of the characters were interesting enough to continue and the plot was very repetitive.

the-crown
© Netflix

5. The Crown – As soon as a Netflix original is announced I am excited to binge watch it all, yet this was not the case with The Crown. It’s quite different to the other shows I watch but the slow pace of the long episodes made it seem very mundane. Although maybe I’m missing something since it has won a lot of awards. Maybe one day when I run out of things to watch I will revisit the series.


What shows have you given up on watching? Do you enjoy these shows?

17 thoughts on “5 Shows I Gave Up

  1. I gave up on Supernatural because there are too many seasons and it’s getting boring to watch. I think you should continue with The Crown, the story is worth sitting through the slow pace

  2. MY GOD I couldn’t agree more. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a show that sucks more ass than Arrow. I’ll definitely be coming back because most of the shows in this post should’ve been destroyed at conception.

    1. I don’t think that’s entirely fair.. The Asylum season of AHS is quite good and The Originals is a massive improvement on Vampire Diaries. Granted though, Arrow really does suck.

  3. Arrow has been a chore for me. I only watch it because of the connection that it has with Flash, but then again I already gave up of Legends of Tomorrow so if Arrow continues not paying of I will say goobye to it for good.

  4. I’m so sad about Arrow. Season 1 was decent but lagged in the middle, Season 2 is some of the greatest TV I’ve ever seen and then it just took a nosedive from there. I gave up in Season 3 with a heavy heart!

  5. A lot of people are saying that Agents of SHIELD has improved throughout the seasons, I completely disagree; I loved the first season but I quit throughout the running season because it really had become a chore.

    1. I’ll most likely steer clear of them in the future. I’m considering going back to The Crown I feel as though I judged it too harshly the first time.

  6. I’m very sentimental about most of the tv shows I watch, so I tend to hold tightly to them even when they’re going downhill. I just couldn’t do that to Shameless. I’m sure it’s still a very enjoyable show but the way they treated some of my favorite characters made me start hating it, which is a shame since it was definitely on my top 5.

    1. I was like that before when I only had under 20 TV shows to keep up with but now that the number keeps growing it’s much easier to stop. Shameless was so great at the beginning, now whenever it’s renewed for another season I’m not as excited.

Leave a Reply

