You Ask, I Suggest – Q&A

When you’re known as the person who watches an unhealthy amount TV shows it is not unusual to be asked for recommendations.


I’m trying something new with this post, a TV specific question and answer. Here’s how it works, I asked people to send in a TV show and explain why they enjoyed it and I recommended another series.

tpvsojs-and-mam

Q: I just completed The People v. OJ Simpson and I really enjoyed watching the case unfold and the build up to the final verdict. I have no idea what to watch next!

A: I recommend  Making a Murderer, a well-made documentary filmed over a decade. It follows Steven Avery, a DNA exoneree, who finds himself as a prime suspect in a rape and murder investigation. The case takes so many twists and turns, whilst highlighting police corruption and exposing the US justice system. Although it is emotionally biased, I had to keep reminding myself that is not fiction.

ob-and-s8

Q: Orphan Black is my favourite show and it’s ending very soon. What should I watch once it is over?

A: Sense8 would be my choice, I know I talk about this series a lot but it genuinely is that good! Orphan Black is such an enjoyable series because of the relationship between the clones and Sense8 showcases a similar bond between the characters. They’re also similar in the sense that there are organisations who are out to harm them for what they are.

mr-and-bm

Q: I’m having Mr Robot withdrawals since the end of Season 2, so I need something similar to watch.

A: Mr Robot is so unique that it’s difficult to find something as good as it. The next best thing is Black Mirror, it has a critical view on society, similar to what Elliot portrays as a narrator. Black Mirror is a British sci-fi anthology series, which has a dark and satirical view on how technology has and will affect society.

bb-and-n

Q: I have missed Breaking Bad since it ended in 2013 and I want something that is as exhilarating to watch.

A: You could watch the spin-off, Better Call Saul. But I think the best option would be Narcos, which follows the violent and powerful drug cartels in Colombia. Whilst Breaking Bad is about drug production, Narcos focuses on the trafficking aspect. You get a similar viewpoint of a family man becoming involved with the underground drug business.


Do you agree with these suggestions? Let me know if this is useful and it could become a regular series.

17 thoughts on “You Ask, I Suggest – Q&A

  1. Thanks for answering my question about Orphan Black I’ve been planning to watch Sense8 but I keep pushing it back. I’ll definitely test it out!

  2. i like these suggestions, i really think it should become a regular series!!! i want to watch black mirror even more than before now!!

    1. Definitely go for it! I made the mistake of binge-watching the series, I think it’s better to take breaks in between to reflect upon each episode.

  3. I like the suggestion of Narcos for Breaking Bad because the obvious choice would be Better Call Saul. P.S. I really love the design for this post it’s so nice

    1. Depends which aspect you enjoyed from Stranger Things. If it was the 80s aspect then Freaks and Geeks. If it was the mystery then maybe The Returned or The OA. There are so many possibilities, hope this is helpful.

    1. Westworld is like Mr Robot in the sense that it is so unique. For it’s mystery aspect I would recommend Lost because it also creates a lot of questions. Or even the Black Mirror episode ‘Be Right Back’ for animated robots.

  4. I can’t thank you enough for telling us about Skam. Your blog inspired me to watch it and now I am OBSESSED! But there’s so little content and now I’m dying for more.. Is there anything else close to the awesomeness of Skam?? Thanks!!!

    1. I’m so happy you enjoyed it! For similarities in getting the point of view of different teenage characters I would say Skins. Eyewitness (US) or the Norwegian version is another option as it has LGBT characters in a thrilling drama.

    1. So many Westworld fans! I’ve mentioned this in a previous comment, if the mystery is what had you engaged then you should watch Lost. For interactions between humans and animated robots watch the Black Mirror episode ‘Be Right Back’. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

